A Non-Profit Organization

World Youth Scrabble Championship Tournament 2014

The World Youth Scrabble Championship Tournament 2014, organised by WESPA was held in Colombo, Sri Lanka from 29th – 31st August 2014. Players from 23 different countries gathered to display their talents. 16 players from Stafford Sri Lankan School Doha Scrabble Club participated in the event representing different age categories.

Under 13     :   Yunus Ismail
Under 12     :   Thareefa  Ismail, Amna Cassim, Afrah Ousmand and  Ushara de Silva
Under 11     :   Dulmini Weeraratne, Vimukthi Ashen  and Shakeel Amath
Under 10     :   Minuki Satharasinghe and Nethara Waduge 
Under 9       :   Hasini Perera, Akmal Akram, Nethan Wijeratne, Niseni Ekanayake and  Sahel Infas
Under 8       :   Imadith Egodawatta 

 Some of these young players performed extremely well and awarded special prizes.

  • Minuki Satharasinghe won the Best Player Award under 10
  • Niseni Ekanayake won the Best Sportsmanship Award
  • Ushara de Silva and Minuki Satharasinghe were among the top three finishers from Qatar